The Sisterhood by Emily Barr

The sisterhood Emily Barr.
I am a big reader and read a wide variety of books and don’t have a particular genre that I like, what I do like about a book is how much of a page turner it is and this book by Emily Barr certainly had me constantly turning the pages!

This book tells of two very different women; Helen and Liz.
Helen grew up in rural France living in a huge chataaeu with a bizarre relationship with her parents who were very withdrawn from her. She lives in a cottage within the chataeau’s grounds and spends her days wondering what to do with her life. She is extremely innocent, has never had a boyfriend, has never had a job and lacks friends.

Liz grew up in England, brought up by her father. Now in her late 30s, a school teacher, plenty of friends and a long-term boyfriend she couldn’t be more different to Helen.

Things change though, Liz’s world comes crashing down as her boyfriend announces he is leaving her- for another man. A result of which means that Liz gets very drunk, ends up sleeping with someone who is far from ‘ideal’ and then a few weeks later realises she is pregnant.

Helen’s life is also about to be turned upside down as she rummages through her parents bedroom and finds, hidden in the back of the wardrobe, a box. Inside this box is a photograph of her mother holding a new born baby and it is clear to Helen that this baby isn’t her. On the back of the photograph is the name ‘Elizabeth Greene’. Realising that her mother has a secret Helen decides she wants to work out what exactly this secret is and who is this baby?

Instead of confronting her parents Helen sets out to track down the lost baby and decides that if she can find her and bring her to her mother then at last she will have achieved something in her life.
And so Helen, niave and very innocent, sets off to find this long-lost sister ignoring that there may be some clues that her own mother could give her or that uncovering the past may cause problems.

As Helen tries to carry out her mission Liz’s world falls apart even more as this French stranger turns up in her life and begins to obsess over her.

I don’t want to give away any more of the story as it will ruin it for you but I can safetly say that it is extremely compelling and ever so slightly sinister too.

I felt as though I knew both characters very well. I could really relate to both of them and would question what I would do if I was in their situation. I wouldn’t consider myself to be anything like them so it just shows that the way that Barr writes this story is really very clever as I was drawn in by both of them. I would get frustrated and concerned with Liz and also excited and determined like Helen.

This story is written in a way which makes you not want to put the book down at all. At the end of each chapter I couldn’t help but keep going and I never was able to guess what was going to happen next. I couldn’t have predicted the ending and I definitely would get lost in this book every time I picked it up.

I haven’t read anything this compelling before. It has a bit of a dark side to it but only in a subtle way which made it even more interesting as at first glance I thought it may be another ‘chick lit’ read but it is far from that!

I can’t recommend this book enough, it’s the best book I have read this year so far! Definitely recommend it!

Leave a Reply

